Posted by: wellness training services | July 20, 2012

The air element

THE AIR ELEMENT 

Image

When the four elements expressing the mental, social-mental, social-physical, and physical sides are dynamically and systematically in harmony, our total being expresses itself in a more congruent and mature way.

COACHING TOOLS TO ENLIVEN MENTAL AWARENESS

When looking at issues in our lives, we have to start to flush out areas to focus on and to start to work with. We can do this by asking ourselves some questions. The table below is an example of how to go about the start of this process.

QUESTION

RESPONSE

NEXT STEPS

What goal are you working on right now?

Getting a new job.

Explore processes involved in finding a new job.

Where are you in relation to reaching the goal?

I’ve only just started exploring my options.

Explore options.

Get support.

What keeps you from reaching the goal?

Too much to do.

Break down processes into small manageable steps to keep focused.

How will you know you are getting closer to or have reached the goal?

When I have interviews set up.

Explore processes involved in setting up interviews.

Establish targets and timetables.

Image

Now, answer the questions for yourself:

•   What goal am I working on right   now?

 •   Where am I in relation to reaching the goal?

 •   What keeps me from reaching the goal?

 •   How will I know I am getting closer to or have reached the goal?

 

Continue using your mental awareness to become more focused. You might want to look at other areas of your life as you begin the journey to coaching yourself to wellness. For example, using what I call the “holistic framework,” identify how you would rate yourself on a scale of 1 (poor) to 10 (strong) in each of the states in the inventory below.

INVENTORY OF STATES SELF-ASSESSMENT

Mental state – Do I feel alert, have good concentration, and make appropriate decisions? Am I curious and open-minded? Am I satisfied with my interest in personal growth? Am I being challenged?

       1       2       3       4       5       6       7       8       9       10

Social state – Are my relationships with others healthy, constructive, trusting, and supportive? Do I feel I can express my feelings? Do I accept other’s feelings? Do I feel I have self-confidence, self-knowledge, and self-control? Am I able to feel empathy, intimacy, and sensitivity with others?

       1       2       3       4       5       6       7       8       9       10

Physical state – Do I have a healthy weight, flexible joints, energy, stamina, strength, and vitality? Do I consume a proper diet with little or no daily intake of caffeine, alcohol, and sweets? Do I manage my finances well, cope well with change, and have an orderly home environment? Am I satisfied with my job/career?

        1       2       3       4       5       6       7       8       9      10

Spiritual state – Do I feel I have a purpose in my life? Do I have inner peace, hope, courage, and joy? Do I have a positive outlook and a commitment to higher principles? Am I nourished by nature? Do I spend time in meditation and on reflection? Do I feel grateful and involve myself in creative activities?

        1       2       3       4       5       6       7       8       9      10

 Which state speaks the loudest to you and would you like to be the start of your coaching journey: mental, social, physical, or spiritual?

Keep focused. Next, addressing the state that most speaks out to you right now, ask yourself and answer the question: “What would it do for me if I were to improve the rating?”

Continue your thinking and consider the following as you work toward creating for yourself a 

 SMART goal: S – specific, M – measurable, A – achievable, R – relevant, and T – timed.

I AS CENTER OF MY UNIVERSE

STATE OF FOCUS

SMART GOAL

SUPPORT/
RESOURCES

NOW?

     

FIVE YEARS FROM NOW?

     

 IN 100 YEARS, I WANT TO BE REMEMBERED FOR WHAT?

 

Change is not easy. Changing our beliefs about our self or changing a habit or pattern we are used to is a great challenge for everyone. There are many things that can get in the way of change, but one thing is for sure: Our first block is what we know and do now and knew and did in the past. We cannot change anything until we are ready to give up the old ways we have done things in the past. When we move toward our goal, we will encounter obstacles along the way that will try to sabotage us in an effort to keep us in the same place.

For mental-sided people, one of their obstacles can be that they feel they no longer need to act after thinking. The thinking is enough. They do not feel that they need the support of others because they are independent and above most people’s standards as they go about their work with no time for other people’s priorities. They have not yet learned that you have to do it yourself and you cannot do it alone. They are fearful that they may lose their identity or change the way they think about themselves. They are uncomfortable about being vulnerable and certainly are not well-developed in expression of feelings.

Techniques and suggestions for AIR people would be to get more in touch with their bodies. One great series of poses to do is some rounds of the Sun Salutation. Here, they reach up and then draw down. Another technique for the AIR-preferred mental-sided is to massage their ears, stimulating their body systems through their ear reflexes.

The next few pages provide some tools and techniques for mental-sided AIR people.

When the AIR expression is balanced and maturely developed, we express intelligence, compassion, forgiveness, and humility while living a life of humanitarian service.

We start our clarification and coaching process with the mental function of AIR: “Who am I?”

Next, we activate the process with actions of the social-mental function of FIRE“What should I do?”

Find us on Facebook

Responses

  1. […] question was the same one asked of Richard (AIR, Chapter 4) and Janet (FIRE, Chapter 5): “How would I describe myself, my strengths, and my […]

  2. […] honor the Critic by hearing and respecting its voice, and in so doing it helps us in furthering our AIR-Dreamer work. Now the Critic is at the level of our consciousness, and having it there will give us […]

  3. […] 1. AIR: “Who am […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

