Posted by: wellness training services | August 30, 2012

Taking A Step – How do I get started in the coaching field?

Taking A Step – How do I get started in the coaching field?

Here is the second question posed by one of our coaches-in-training who asked, “How do I get started in the coaching field?”

Question 2:

What tools and resources do you use in setting a fee as a Wholistic Life Coach?  Setting fees is always a challenge for any coach.  If it is a corporate setting, I charge by the project, the day, or the type of company it is.  The fees are different if it is a profit versus a non-profit organization, for example.

There are ways to help with the company’s budget if their funds are limited.  For example, I could send them the materials to print to save them the additional materials’ fee or I could tighten the timeline to help with day rate fees, if necessary.  For those companies that have funds and the training budget isn’t a problem, I can expand the work and include more time and effort on my part and I like to include a 3-month online support for their staff member.

I typically charge:

  1. a.      pre-work fees (pre-coaching questions and assessments)
  2. b.       post-work documentation (summary report) fees and online or telephone support fees,
  3. c.       materials’ fees (manual and handouts), and
  4. d.      my time on a per diem basis fee (generally I recommend two days). 

So there is room there to negotiate. 

If I do some coaching when I work with clients on the healing arts side, I would set up a per-hour fee of $100 to $150 per hour (depending on where this is conducted and my own costs) and we would take things one step at a time. 

Again, investigation work is how we start as we have to get the information and start to focus on the client’s issue.  We want to know:

  1.     Who are you (personality quiz)?
  2.     What are you dealing with right now (pre-coaching questions)
  3.     How do you deal with others (conflict survey)
  4.    How can I help (agreement/contract/waiver).

That is the overall system from my point of view.  What other thoughts do you have that you would be willing to share?  We would love to hear from you.  Thanks, Danielle

Stay awake, aware, and alert and strive to lead a well-tempered life – a life that possesses both hardiness and flexibility.  The good news is that once you are awake, it’s hard to go to sleep again, but if you do, do it on purpose and prepare yourself for the consequences.

FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/wellnesstrainingservices

BLOG: https://wellnesstrainingservices.wordpress.com/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/__Wellness__

AMAZON:  amazon.com/author/rdaniellegault

BOOK: www.welltemperedlife.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

