Posted by: wellness training services | October 21, 2012

Elemental Personality Theory – Part 9: The water element cont.

Elemental Personality Theory – Part 9: The water element cont.

FACTOR-OF-SUCCESS METHOD

This is one time-management tool that I have found to be helpful. At the start of each day, identify your priorities and list those things that are going to move you ahead and will bring you the greatest feeling of success. Assign each activity or task a rating of from 1 (highest) to 3 (lowest) on a scale of Urgency and on a scale of Importance. Then, multiply together the two ratings to find your priority with the greatest likelihood or factor of Success:

Success = Urgency x Importance

For example, let’s say that I have identified and rated three priorities for today:

  • Association surveys: 2 for Urgency and 3 for Importance. Success = 2 x 3 = 6
  • Coaching program timeline: 1 for Urgency and 1 for Importance. Success = 1 x 1 =1
  • Book project editing: 2 for Urgency and 1 for Importance. Success = 2 x 1 = 2

In the example, the best thing for me to focus on first is the coaching program timeline as it rates 1 x 1 = 1. The next thing for me to do is to work on the book project editing as it rates 2 x 1 = 2. Last to work on is the association surveys as it rates 2 x 3 = 6.

Using this method, I can now see clearly what will bring me the greatest feeling of success, and that is where I should focus my attention and efforts. This will help me to stay on-track and keep me from going off on tangents. I have coached myself to success!

CATEGORIES-FOR-THE-WEEK METHOD

This is another method I use and find very helpful. At the start of each week, I list on flipchart paper everything coming in the week ahead that I can think of and should focus on. I make a list of categories, then list the items for each category. I have found that this is the easiest time-management tool I have ever learned to use that brings me the greatest satisfaction. Just listing items like this keeps me clearly focused. At the end of the week, I am always amazed at how much of my list was completed. In fact, I can honestly say that at least ninety percent of all of my lists have been completed at the end of each week in my thirty years of using this method—which I learned at my first corporate job from a very intense boss. I have tried many other time-management tools over the years, but this one remains my favorite and most satisfying.

Here is an example of what has resulted from the following open-statement that I use weekly to guide myself and set priorities:

Looking ahead at the coming week, I will feel good if at the end of the week I have accomplished:

Category 1 – Appointments Category 2 – Telephone calls
1. Doctor 1. Book Master Mind
2. Hair dresser 2. Cancel eye examination
3. Exercise x 3 3. Group meeting call
4. Lunch for Sam 4. Coaching students
5. Cooking class 5. Call Gloria back

 

Category 3 – Workshops Category 4 – Administration
1. Pick up at printers 1. Deposit check
2. Gather coaching materials 2. Send out cards
3. Finish with students 3. Pay monthly bills online
4. Create timeline/agenda 4. Property legal question
5. Review activity flow/timing 5. Tidy workspace

 

When we are coaching ourselves to success, we have to constantly ask: “Is this activity moving me closer to my targeted goal? Is it the most important thing for me to do right now?”

If the activity is not, then refocus; if the activity is, do it and pat yourself on the back.

THE MATURE WATER ELEMENT BRINGS REFLECTION AND IMAGINATION

Reflection of life and its mysteries make the WATER element a seeker and a seer of the unseen. An unending supply of divine expression flows from a receptive cup as the imagination leans toward the mystical. When maturely developed, an abundance of creative expression is channeled for transforming negativity through the laws of give-and-take. Cooperation and harmony are keywords as you strive to live a life dedicated to peaceful co-existence.

Step 1. AIR“Who am I?”

Step 2. FIRE“What should I do?”

Step 3. WATER“Who and/or what else is involved and how am I feeling about all this?”

Step 4. EARTH“How do I balance the inner and the outer worlds and build a solid foundation on which to stand and move forward?” 
Stay awake, aware, and alert and strive to lead a well-tempered life – a life that possesses both hardiness and flexibility.  The good news is that once you are awake, it’s hard to go to sleep again, but if you do, do it on purpose and prepare yourself for the consequences.

FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/wellnesstrainingservices

BLOG: https://wellnesstrainingservices.wordpress.com/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/__Wellness__

AMAZON:  www.amazon.com/author/rdaniellegault

BOOK: www.welltemperedlife.com

www.dsmsolutions.biz

Leave a Reply

Categories

