Posted by: wellness training services | October 27, 2012

7 Things You Can Do to Make Life Changes – Prepare and plan to change

Now that you have a goal, you understand your own personality process orientation, you know what you will not do to achieve this goal, it is time to make a plan to move the goal forward from the idea of the goal to the manifestation of the goal.  Identify the set of steps you will take in order to move the goal forward.  For example, I say that I will do the following:

Step 1 – look at the calendar for the next month ahead and chose a start and an end date for my goal.  Decide when to go to restaurants and schedule that into my day timer.  Build that into my plan.  Decide how long I will use this method to help me achieve my goal outcome and in my case, I stated 30 days.  I will do this method for one month and then recalibrate.

Step 2 – Decide what resources I will need in order to fulfill my commitment to losing 10 pounds in one month.  I say that I will exercise at least 4 times per week.  I will get a personal trainer to coach me 2 times per week.  I will communicate with one of my friends who can support me along the way and I will stay in touch with them for support and dialoguing in order to stay focused and committed. 

Step 3 – Decide how I will measure my progress along the way.  I will use the scale to measure my progress as that is quantifiable.

Step 4 – Review my habits/progress/steps weekly.  Analyze what worked and what didn’t work for me.

Step 5 – Draw on support. Every week build in a discussion with my partner to analyze how we’re doing in order to keep motivated, focused, and committed.  Give my friend and personal trainer the weight measurement each week so that I demonstrate to them that I am moving forward and toward my goal achievement.

Step 6 – Wrap it up – at the end of the 30 days, calibrate how I did, capture what I learned about myself and this goal, and decide what I want to do next. 

Step 7 – Set up a new goal and start the process over again if that is what I want to do.  Or, take a break from goal-setting processes and revisit it another time.

FIND US ON FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

Categories

