Posted by: wellness training services | November 3, 2012

7 Things You Can Do to Make Life Changes – Define what you do not want to give up in order to achieve this goal

DEFINE WHAT YOU DO NOT WANT TO GIVE UP IN ORDER TO ACHIEVE THIS GOAL

Image

One of the greatest challenges to change is defining what you would have to give up when achieving a goal.  When we set goals we often don’t start with what we do not want to do.  This is very important in order to sustain the goal, commit to follow through with the goal, and to keep ourselves motivated along the way.  So, for example, in my weight reduction goal, the one thing I do not want to give up is the habit of going to restaurants with my partner as this is the way to soothe ourselves after working hard and long hours.  Soothing is a most important part of our life and how we go about soothing ourselves is to go out for dinner and drink some wine.  We do have to cut back on this habit that is for sure but just how much is the question that could make or break the interest in the goal achievement process.

So, part of the working of the goal also requires what it is that I am prepared to do and what are the limits on what I will set for myself on what I will not want to do because this is truly what will be in my way anyway.  I may as well acknowledge that and build it into my goal-achievement process.  I am not prepared to give up going to restaurants and having wine but I am prepared to limit how often we go out and to identify any further parameters in order to have some discipline as well as keep me motivated and engaged in accomplishing my outcome.

 

 

FIND US ON FACEBOOK

 

 

Brought to you by DSM Solutions – Helping you manage your social media

Leave a Reply

Categories

