Posted by: wellness training services | November 7, 2013

November Holistic Living Tips Part 1

Holistic Living – Developing Selfless Compassion – Zen Habits

While the idea of being more compassionate is appealing to many people, what stands in the way is that we get irritated by other people, often actually strongly disliking them. Source

How can you be compassionate with others when they irritate you, rub you the wrong way, make you angry? Source

It’s difficult. I have a hard time with this fairly often, so I’ve been studying it inside myself. What’s really amazing is how much we get in our own way. Source

My “self” is the thing that stands in the way of true compassion, I’ve been learning. Source

And my “self” is almost always putting itself in the center of the universe, demanding things, and becoming angry when it doesn’t get what it feels it deserves. Source

I’m really blown away by how much I think about myself, and how often I believe (without admitting it to myself) that I deserve to be treated a certain way, that others should act the way I want them to act. Source

 

Holistic Living – Finding Time to Exercise Without Guilt

IMG_5040_thumb

Laura asked, “I was wondering if you could possibly give me some advice about exercising. I’m struggling at the moment in finding a balance with work and my personal life. I often get very stressed and find it difficult to switch off. In 2011, got into running (inspired by your blog!) and did two 10K races. I felt really good. However then I got a promotion, which was of course great, but I suddenly found I had less time. Whenever I do have free time, I feel really guilty about exercising. I always feel that there is more I could do at work (there is always more I could do) and that exercising is self-indulgent when I could be fulfilling my other responsibilities better. However, I hate sitting down most of the day. Also, one of my colleagues has started to run a lot recently and he said that he felt so much less stressed now he felt fitter. So I wondered if you could give some advice on how to find the time when busy, but perhaps particularly, how do you make it a priority when there are so many other things that are priorities as well?!?” Source

Holistic Living – 6 Top Tips to Reduce Cortisol

Cortisol can be a killer or at least the inflammation that is a result of excessive cortisol in your body. Understanding what cortisol is and how it impacts the body is essential in today’s modern world. Let’s just take a quick look at what Cortisol is, and what it does. Source

What is Cortisol?

Cortisol is a natural steroidal hormone. Its “official” name is hydrocortisone, but that’s far too long a handle to even say, let alone write; so let’s stick with its more “casual” name. Cortisol is a naturally occurring steroidal hormone. It’s produced by our adrenal glands. These are the small glands that are attached to each of our kidneys. First of all, just to put the record straight, Cortisol is a chemical that we cannot do without. It’s essential for life. We’ll go into the ins and outs of what it actually does in a moment, but for now, suffice it to say it’s a little like the mother-in-law: acceptable in small amounts, but when overexposed – not good for your health. Source

Holistic Living – The Incredible Benefits of Peppermint

peppermintusesThe benefits of Peppermint are many-fold, but in the world of super-foods, the peppermint plant is often overshadowed by the likes of Blueberries, Goji Berries, and Broccoli. Yet Peppermint is an herb that is rich in vitamins and minerals, and is associated with being able to combat many illnesses and conditions. Its leaves can be consumed whole, or chopped and drunk in the form of peppermint tea, or they can be topically applied, or ingested, in the form of peppermint oil. But why is it so good for you and what are the uses to which it is put by so many people in the know? First of all, let’s stop for a minute and take a quick look at the history of this incredible herb. Source

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Categories

